Print thread view
fsx downloads, fsx aircraft, FS2004 aircrafts, fsx plane, Prepar3d, x-plane, fsx addons | FS 2002/2004 | FS2004 Repaint Forum
Author Help with FS Repaint
kirkjevans

Member

Posts: 10
Location: Spain
Joined: 20.07.07

Posted on 24-07-2007 16:39
Hi, I have got FS Repaint and have started to follow the step by step guide that comes with it to repaint my first aircraft, Cessna Grand Caravan, which was all going fine until I tried to change the logo from the Emerald Harbour Air. It seems like no matter what you try to do with the logo image it keeps getting re-written with the original text.

Then I gave up and decided to create a new variation using the blue and white variant of the 208B, it has no logo, great, I thought.

Now I am trying to put my own logo on the side but when viewing the finished aircraft the logo on the port side is perfect but on the starboard side the logo is mirrored, obviously this makes having a logo with lettering impossible to read.

Any help would be appreciated.

K J Evans
http://www.daygoes.com Send Private Message
Author RE: Help with FS Repaint
jackfolla

Webmaster

Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

Posted on 24-07-2007 19:35
that is a problem with the model, you can resolve placing a logo mirrored with fspainter
Send Private Message
Author RE: Help with FS Repaint
kirkjevans

Member

Posts: 10
Location: Spain
Joined: 20.07.07

Posted on 24-07-2007 20:26
Thanks will look into that and post how I got on.

K J Evanssmiley
http://www.daygoes.com Send Private Message
Author RE: Help with FS Repaint
kirkjevans

Member

Posts: 10
Location: Spain
Joined: 20.07.07

Posted on 24-07-2007 21:03
Possibly me being a complete idiot but when you said fspainter I thought this was another piece of editing software. Searching the net though I found out that fspainter is a person or company that does repaints.

It is strange why I cannot do what I want with the logo as the original 208B has Grand Caravan written on the tail both sides and they read correctly port and starboard.

When I load the texture into my editor I can see the Grand Caravan logo in two places both though are reading the same way i.e.left to right.

If I delete this logo and place mine in the same postion it does not work.

Not only am I trying to enter a logo on the tail but also under each wing and the same happens, I can see the problem though, the texture has only one wing so the image is just mirrored, hence so is any logo I put here.

Maybe I might have to re-model the plane in FSDS to allow for separate structure pieces in the texture images.

I will post back if I solve this dilemma.

smiley smiley
http://www.daygoes.com Send Private Message
Author RE: Help with FS Repaint
kirkjevans

Member

Posts: 10
Location: Spain
Joined: 20.07.07

Posted on 25-07-2007 21:53
OK after lots of net trawling I came to the sad if not obvious conclusion that there is no way to de-construct mdl files.

More trawling later and lots and lots of downloads of various apps to build new aircraft, also technical data and specification files from Cessna, I have decided to build a brand new version of the 208B (IDIOT OR WHAT)?

In about 20 years! when I am grey and wrinkled, hopefully it will be available to all with the added feature of being able to repaint as you like with ease as the texture template will have all the pieces separately, not just a wrapped texture.

Wish me luck or if you are in Spain at any time and see a bloke with grey hair and clumps of it missing, walking with a hunch, with square glazed over eyes and muttering to himself, JUST SHOOT ME.

K J Evans

smiley
http://www.daygoes.com Send Private Message
Author RE: Help with FS Repaint
jackfolla

Webmaster

Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

Posted on 28-07-2007 06:39
i think it is not a problem caused by you but modelling is a complex way to build aircraft and needs a lot of patience and tries tries tries...all designers learns learning from their errors...i am sure you will have a succesfull worksmileysmiley

the motorbyke is a suzuki 1100? i had one some years agosmiley
Edited by jackfolla on 28-07-2007 06:41
Send Private Message
Author RE: painting default aircraft
groundsquirrel

Member

Posts: 1
Location: Navarre, Florida
Joined: 08.01.08

Posted on 08-01-2008 10:00
The reason that your decals/emblems/text seem to be mirrored on the default aircraft is that the models are what I personally call "single slice". The texture maps are drawn through to both sides of the aircraft. To have text represented properly you have to find the "decal.bmp" texture and it will usually only be for a small area. This is true of all the default aircraft in FS. In your FSRepaint window on the left where the aircraft list is, you will also see a tab for "textures". Select your aircraft then select textures for the Grand Caravan. If you open C208B_T.bmp you will note that there is only one view of the fuselage. What you are looking for in the way of models to repaint are those that have a definitive left and right side view of the fuselage. When you do find them, be aware that sometimes the opposite side of the model will need the text to be reversed. It just depends on how the texture maps were applied.


foraging is a gut instinct
Send Private Message