Home Downloads Forum Videos ONLINE SHOP BUY Membership Register November 19 2017 07:03:49
Navigation
 

Home

Home

FS News

Articles

Downloads

Advertise with Us

Simnetwork Market

Icarus Golden age
 
Community

News Archive

Privacy Policy

Refund Policy

Links

Photo Gallery

Avatar Gallery

Members

 
Support

Contact Us


 
Documentation

Site F.A.Q
Advertisement

Site Stats
Simnetwork 1 source for fsx downloads, fsx Aircraft, FS2004 aircrafts, fsx plane, Prepar3d, x-plane, fsx addons
WELCOME
langandwood01
as a Simnetwork new user

Registered Members: 16896

Super Administrators: 2
Moderators: 1
Users: 16889

Members Online:

winkler 1 day
seateaz 3 days
stevemarquis 4 days
macdonaldeugene 5 days
Bigfoot 5 days
jstearns 5 days
turaif 5 days
tsmothers2002 6 days
mike cooper 6 days

Guests Online: 1


Forum Categories 39
Forum Threads 701
Forum Posts 1314
Comments 84
News 248
Articles 45
Downloaded files 16462
Web Links 43
Total Downloaded Files
1668126
Google Ads


We currently offer a massive range of downloads for FSX, as well as older flight simulator add-ons for the ever-popular FS2004, FS2002, CFS3 and now becoming ever popular with dediced virtual aviators is Laminar Research's X-Plane series.

fsx aircraft, fsx freeware downloads, fsx addon, fs2004 aircraft, fsx planes


View Thread
Simnetwork 1 source for fsx downloads, fsx Aircraft, FS2004 aircrafts, fsx plane, Prepar3d, x-plane, fsx addons | FS 2002/2004 | Lessons

Print Thread Rate Thread Change to old view


Using Nav1 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:06
User Avatar p51d
Rank 3

Awards:
None
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: 06.05.06

On my approach on the ILS (which I can still not figure out) I have read instructions to set my Nav1 radio with the ILS frequency and the CRS with the runway heading. I activate the NAV1 radio and... Altitude stays in and doesnt change over to APP, even when I am using EFIS to be sure I get the glideslope. I recently read something however, about activating NAV2 radio, now... I only thought we needed NAV1, could my failiure to set the NAV2 radio be the cause of my inability to land? and what frequency to i need to set NAV2 to?
Edited by webmaster on 02-05-2012 02:12
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:07
User Avatar jackfolla
Rank 6

Awards:
Medal Medal Medal 
Webmaster

Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

NAV2 radio is a whole independent radio and you don't have to use it for autoland. But you can use it when you want to measure distance from another VOR station that is in the vicinity, or when you need to fly towards one VOR until crossing a radial from another, that can only be achieved with two radios. And ofcourse, if one fails, there's the second.
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:07
User Avatar p51d
Rank 3

Awards:
None
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: 06.05.06

thanks, so i have the radios right but can anyone tell me why the Altitude hold doesnt automatically switch to APP hold when I intercept the glideslope from underneath. Instead, it keeps goin straight and over the glideslope, past the runway
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:08
User Avatar jackfolla
Rank 6

Awards:
Medal Medal Medal 
Webmaster

Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

You have to click on the GS or APP button to engage the Glideslope Hold. You can do that any time before you actually have the needle in the center position. And when it starts to come near the center position, the autpilot will go from thr Altituede Hold mode to Glideslope Hold mode.
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:08
User Avatar p51d
Rank 3

Awards:
None
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: 06.05.06

yes, but unfortunately wheb you click APP hold, ALT disengages so i cant click APP and have ALT go off when i intercept the glideslope because at that point it is already off!
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:08
User Avatar jackfolla
Rank 6

Awards:
Medal Medal Medal 
Webmaster

Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

Yea, but the APP will hold present altitude until you intercept the glideslope.
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:09
User Avatar p51d
Rank 3

Awards:
None
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: 06.05.06

okay - i landed one ILS after many tries and i still cant get it.. and its set to NAV not GPS ----- i got this panel with autoland of AVSIM that was recomended and suposably it does all this for you but im still figuring it out and id still need to know how to do the typical ILS.. so all i need is to keep practising and if it still doesnt work then I dont know - p.s.- is EFIS a good training tool and does the pathway represent the glideslope so i can check that i folow it, and does the speed at which i hit the glideslope make a diff? and if im supposed to intercept it at a 45deg. angle, does that mean goin straight on APP hold. When a good time to activate APP, after im done with NAV hold and have lined up with the runway, which reminds me, someimtes NAV just turns back and forth out of line with the runway, is there a reason for this overturning?
Send Private Message
RE: Using Nav1 and Nav2 radios - Posted on 23-06-2007 15:10
User Avatar jackfolla
Rank 6

Awards:
Medal Medal Medal 
Webmaster

Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

1. I suggest that you start out with a slow moving basic aircraft such as the Cessna 172. Practice with this aircraft then (when you feel comfortable) move up to a larger faster aircraft.

2. I will refer you to the same website that Ricktobin referenced in another post:

http://www.navfltsm.addr.com/
Send Private Message
Jump to Forum:
Ratings
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
*Latest Site Info Panel*
Downloads/Weblinks
FSX Republic F-84 Thunderj...
FSX Le Mans 4 FSX Maserati...
FSX/FSX-SE/P3D Douglas C-4...
FSX Convair B-36 Peacemaker
FSX Malolo Version 2
FSX Grimes Flying Laborato...
FSX Update Of Douglas DC-4 V3
FSX Le Mans 4 FSX Audi R18...
FSX Macchi 205, ANR
Robin DR400 FSX native
Kodiak Air
Vertical Studios
Australian Aviation Authority
Vat Sim Online ATC Services
Global FLX Terrain
Forum Threads
Prepar3d Gamma scenery
Kawasaki Ki 61 Hien "Tony"
A tip for NVidia users
FSX / P3D Software and Har...
How to create a flyable/pi...
VC Interior for VC-less or...
Added Views (FSX-Camera de...
How to activate the defaul...
How to enable the Concorde...
How to solve black feather...
Hottest Threads
installing? [12]
Making a "FSX Flight Video" [9]
Cool FSX Screenshots [8]
more carriers [7]
Using Nav1 radios [7]
Latest News/Articles
Simnetwork new blog
prepar3d version for north...
working on prepar3d versio...
ICARUSGOLD NORTHROP GAMMA ...
Icarusgold Northrop Gamma
FSX ACCELERATION AND STEA...
PREPARD3D ki-61 ON SALE NOW
NEW SERVER
FSX ACCELERATION AND STEAM...
ON SALE NOW
How to use Slew Mode Effec...
FSX Steam Edition Review
Prepar3d Review
Help for Newbies - Organiz...
FSX.cfg tweaks
Premium Member Login
Username

Password

Remember Me


Not a Premium member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Donate
HELP KEEP OUR SERVERS ONLINE!


Current Donation Stats

Nov's Goal: $300.00
Due Date: Nov 30
Amount in: $0.00
Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $300.00
TopSites











Member Poll
Which is your favourite simulator?

FSX

FSX Steam

PREPAR3D

XPLANE

COMBAT FLIGHT SIMULATOR

FS9

You must login to vote.



Copyrighted © Simnetwork 2015-2020, all rights reserved.