Home Downloads Forum Videos ONLINE SHOP BUY Membership Register December 15 2018 12:53:03
Navigation
 

Home

Home

FS News

Articles

Downloads

Advertise with Us

Simnetwork Market

Icarus Golden age
 
Community

News Archive

Privacy Policy

Refund Policy

Links

Photo Gallery

Avatar Gallery

Members

 
Support

Contact Us


 
Documentation

Site F.A.Q
Donate
HELP KEEP OUR SERVERS ONLINE!


Current Donation Stats

Dec's Goal: $300.00
Due Date: Dec 31
Amount in: $0.00
Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $300.00
Site Stats
fsx downloads, fsx aircraft, FS2004 aircrafts, fsx plane, Prepar3d, x-plane, fsx addons
WELCOME
rajko
as a Simnetwork new user

Registered Members: 16908

Super Administrators: 2
Moderators: 1
Users: 16901

Members Online:

webmaster 1 day
tsmothers2002 3 days
DodScot 1 week
garykidman 2 weeks
seateaz 2 weeks
BobbyC 4 weeks
Alan Lee 4 weeks
mib 5 weeks
trigger 5 weeks

Guests Online: 3


Forum Categories 39
Forum Threads 700
Forum Posts 1313
Comments 84
News 226
Articles 45
Downloaded files 16542
Web Links 43
Total Downloaded Files
1677665
Google Ads


We currently offer a massive range of downloads for FSX, as well as older flight simulator add-ons for the ever-popular FS2004, FS2002, CFS3 and now becoming ever popular with dediced virtual aviators is Laminar Research's X-Plane series.

fsx aircraft, fsx freeware downloads, fsx addon, fs2004 aircraft, fsx planes


View Thread
fsx downloads, fsx aircraft, FS2004 aircrafts, fsx plane, Prepar3d, x-plane, fsx addons | FS 2002/2004 | FS 2002/2004 General Discussion

Print Thread Rate Thread Change to new view


Author Overspeed Question
chuck

Member

User Avatar

Rank 2


Posts: 36
Joined: 25.01.07

Posted on 20-03-2007 16:18
I have a few questions about the overspeed warning in jet aircraft. Is there anyway to know when you are approaching your overspeed at a certain alttitude? The checklist doesn't have the figures (That I can tell) and I don't see any gauges that seem to pertain to it either. So I guess my question is, how does everyone prevent this problem.

Thanks for the help..
Send Private Message
Author RE: Overspeed Question
jackfolla

Webmaster

User Avatar

Medal Medal Medal 
Rank 6


Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

Posted on 20-03-2007 16:20
The simplest way is to use the maximum speed in KIAS as your guide up to FL260 or so, then switch over to Mach number and use that up to your final cruising altitude.

For example, the Lear Jet has Do Not Exceed speeds of 330 KIAS or Mach 0.81. As I'm climbing up to cruising altitude, I'll leave the autothrottle set at 315 KIAS (for a little safety margin). Then as I pass through 26,000 feet, I'll switch the A/T over to Mach and set it to 0.80. When I reach cruising altitude (~FL350), I set it to 0.81.

While I'm climbing, I'll watch the GPS and adjust the rate of climb so that the ground speed is steadily increasing. If I notice the ground speed start to drop, I cut the rate of climb. My goal is to be at cruise speed when I reach cruise altitude.
Send Private Message
Author RE: Overspeed Question
chuck

Member

User Avatar

Rank 2


Posts: 36
Joined: 25.01.07

Posted on 20-03-2007 16:20
The Learjet is exactly the jet that I had in mind too. I have just noticed that the Boeings have markings on the airspeed indicators that show the speed which overspeed occurs but I can't seem to find anything like that on the Learjet. Seems odd that it wouldn't have one if other jets do but what do I know.

Also what is the benefit of switching to mach over IAS? Sorry I'm new to jets
Send Private Message
Author RE: Overspeed Question
jackfolla

Webmaster

User Avatar

Medal Medal Medal 
Rank 6


Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

Posted on 20-03-2007 16:21
i think i should give a shot at this. You need to switch to Mach speed at higher altitudes and not IAS.At higher altitudes the pressure decreases and air density decreases and hence what you see is not the actual airspeed.Your aircraft is moving much faster than indicated as less air causes less tension in the airframes.So i don;t think it is a matter of choice of Mach or IAS...
Send Private Message
Author RE: Overspeed Question
chuck

Member

User Avatar

Rank 2


Posts: 36
Joined: 25.01.07

Posted on 20-03-2007 16:22
How do you set the Auto throttle to work correctly? I am able to switch between KIAS and MACH, but I can never get the auto throttle to actually hold the speed that I have set.
Send Private Message
Author RE: Overspeed Question
jackfolla

Webmaster

User Avatar

Medal Medal Medal 
Rank 6


Posts: 509
Joined: 11.04.06

Posted on 20-03-2007 16:23
You need to arm the Autothrottle .Set the speed and press the SPD button.But it entirely depends on the aircraft you are using.Mine is with reference to Boeing 747. And obviously you need to be on autopilot.
Send Private Message
Jump to Forum:
Ratings
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Advertisement

Flight Simulator X Downloads: FSX | FS2004 | FS2002 | CFS3 | CFS2 | IL-2.

FSX Acceleration | FSX Service Pack 1 | FSX Download 1 | FSX



*Latest Site Info Panel*
Downloads/Weblinks
FSX/P3D (V.3) Arado-96b up...
FSX/P3D (V.3) Arado-240 up...
FSX/P3D FSLaunchPad
LoLa17 Any Airport Approac...
FSX/P3D Lockheed PV-2 Harp...
FSX/P3D Native PV-1 Vega V...
FS2004/FSX Flight Analyzer...
FSX/P3D>v4 Royal Canadian ...
FSX/P3D Hawker Tempest Pan...
FSX B-2A Stealth Bomber
Kodiak Air
Vertical Studios
Australian Aviation Authority
Vat Sim Online ATC Services
Global FLX Terrain
Forum Threads
Prepar3d Gamma scenery
Kawasaki Ki 61 Hien "Tony"
A tip for NVidia users
FSX / P3D Software and Har...
How to create a flyable/pi...
VC Interior for VC-less or...
Added Views (FSX-Camera de...
How to activate the defaul...
How to enable the Concorde...
How to solve black feather...
Hottest Threads
installing? [12]
Making a "FSX Flight Video" [9]
Cool FSX Screenshots [8]
more carriers [7]
Using Nav1 radios [7]
Latest News/Articles
Simnetwork new blog
prepar3d version for north...
working on prepar3d versio...
ICARUSGOLD NORTHROP GAMMA ...
Icarusgold Northrop Gamma
FSX ACCELERATION AND STEA...
PREPARD3D ki-61 ON SALE NOW
NEW SERVER
FSX ACCELERATION AND STEAM...
ON SALE NOW
How to use Slew Mode Effec...
FSX Steam Edition Review
Prepar3d Review
Help for Newbies - Organiz...
FSX.cfg tweaks
Premium Member Login
Username

Password

Remember Me


Not a Premium member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Advertisement

TopSites











Member Poll
Which is your favourite simulator?

FSX

FSX Steam

PREPAR3D

XPLANE

COMBAT FLIGHT SIMULATOR

FS9

You must login to vote.



Copyrighted © Simnetwork 2005-2022, all rights reserved.